Election 2024: PTI-Backed Independents Lead As Provisional Results Roll In

Despite the suspension of mobile phone and internet services, a substantial number of people around the country exercised their right to vote.

Election 2024: PTI-Backed Independents Lead As Provisional Results Roll In

All eyes are on screens, with political parties, independent candidates, and voters buckling their seatbelts as the much-anticipated provisional results for the 2024 general elections begin to roll in. Despite the suspension of mobile phone and internet services, a substantial number of people around the country exercised their right to vote, electing representatives for national and provincial assemblies from 855 constituencies.

Delay In Results

Several political parties and the general public are raising grave concerns over the delay in results, and rumors of alleged rigging are making the rounds on social media.

While addressing a press conference on Friday, Pakistan People Party (PPP) senior leader Sherry Rehman said that results were changed over the night in Lahore.

Bilawal Fails To Re-Launch PPP In Lahore

It is pertinent to mention here that PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari contested elections from Lahore’s NA-127 constituency, but he acquired just 15,005 votes, while Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leader Atta Tarar won by securing 98,210 votes. Independent candidate Malik Zaheer Abbas secured second place with 82,230 votes.

Nawaz Sharif, Maryam Nawaz, And Hamza Shehbaz Emerge Victorious 

PML-N supremo Nawaz Sharif defeated PTI-backed prominent candidate Dr. Yasmeen Rashid from NA-130 by 55,981 votes. Netizens are raising questions over the transparency of polls following Nawaz’s victory. According to analysts, Dr. Yasmeen was leading in the beginning, but all of a sudden Nawaz emerged victorious.

PML-N Senior Vice President Maryam Nawaz also emerged victorious from NA-119 with 83,855 votes.

PML-N candidate Hamza Shehbaz won the election for National Assembly constituency NA-118 Lahore-II by securing 1,05,960 votes. His runner-up was independent candidate Aliya Hamza Malik, who bagged 1,00,803 votes.

Victory Of Independent Candidates 

Surprisingly, a large number of independent candidates have won National Assembly seats, and out of these independent candidates, the majority of them are PTI-backed.

Major political parties PML-N and PPP are engaged in a race to grab the most independent candidates to form their government.

While speaking to a private news channel, PML-N senior leader and former finance minister Senator Ishaq Dar said that talks are underway with many independent candidates, expressing hope that the PML-N will form its government.

PML-N Stalwart Saad Rafique Faces Defeat In NA-122

In a major upset, PML-N stalwart Khawaja Saad Rafique faced defeat in his stronghold constituency of NA-122 Lahore. According to unofficial results, Sardar Latif Khosa of the PTI won the elections with 117,109 votes, while Rafique received just 77,709 votes.

While showing grace, Rafique took to X, formerly known as Twitter, to announce that he accepts the decision of the public wholeheartedly. He also congratulated his competitor, Khosa, and prayed for the progress and prosperity of the country.

JI Chief Siraj ul Haq Defeated By PTI-Backed Independent Candidate

Meanwhile, Jamaat-e-Islami's (JI) chief Siraj ul Haq was defeated by Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI)-backed independent candidate Muhammad Bashir Khan by more than 20,000 votes in the NA-6 (Lower Dir-I) constituency. Haq received 52,545 votes, while his opponent received 76,259 votes and won the seat.

PTI Rules Out Establishing Coalition Govt With PPP Or PML-N

The PTI has announced that it is in a position to establish a government at the center and has ruled out forming an alliance with the PPP or the PML-N.

While speaking at a private news channel, Barrister Gohar said, "We are not in contact with the PPP or the PML-N." He said that the PTI has gained 150 National Assembly seats and would have enough seats to establish a government at the Center. "We will form the government at the Centre and Punjab," he added.

He also stated that the PTI has clean sweeps in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and will form a government there as well.